Shallow Waters

Shallow Waters is a nourishing work of ritual storytelling from promising debut author Anita Kopacz.

Shallow Waters

“Spellbinding...A captivating debut.” —Harper’s Bazaar ​ ​​In this stirring and lyrical debut novel—perfect for fans of The Water Dancer and the Legacy of Orïsha series—the Yoruba deity of the sea, Yemaya, is brought to vivid life as she discovers the power of Black resilience, love, and feminine strength in antebellum America. Shallow Waters imagines Yemaya, an Orïsha—a deity in the religion of Africa’s Yoruba people—cast into mid-1800s America. We meet Yemaya as a young woman, still in the care of her mother and not yet fully aware of the spectacular power she possesses to protect herself and those she holds dear. The journey laid out in Shallow Waters sees Yemaya confront the greatest evils of this era; transcend time and place in search of Obatala, a man who sacrifices his own freedom for the chance at hers; and grow into the powerful woman she was destined to become. We travel alongside Yemaya from her native Africa and on to the “New World,” with vivid pictures of life for those left on the outskirts of power in the nascent Americas. Yemaya realizes the fighter within, travels the Underground Railroad in search of the mysterious stranger Obatala, and crosses paths with icons of our history on the road to freedom. Shallow Waters is a nourishing work of ritual storytelling from promising debut author Anita Kopacz.

More Books:

Shallow Waters
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Anita Kopacz
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-03 - Publisher: Atria/Black Privilege Publishing

“Spellbinding...A captivating debut.” —Harper’s Bazaar ​ ​​In this stirring and lyrical debut novel—perfect for fans of The Water Dancer and the Legacy of Orïsha series—the Yoruba deity of the sea, Yemaya, is brought to vivid life as she discovers the power of Black resilience, love, and feminine strength in antebellum
Shallow Waters
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: C. R. Benstead
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-10-28 - Publisher: A&C Black

In this unusual book, Benstead tells how the men of the British Isles have matched their skill and courage against the menace of the surrounding sea. The fishermen, life-boatmen, the smugglers and hovellers, the men of the Royal Navy and the Merchant Service and the pilots of Trinity House -
The Works - Shallow Waters
Language: en
Pages: 262
Authors: Rivulia
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-09-18 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

There is no available information at this time.
Comparison of Recording Current Meters in Shallow Waters of San Francisco Bay, California
Language: en
Pages: 84
Authors: Jeffrey W. Gartner, Richard N. Oltmann
Categories: Freshwater ecology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990 - Publisher:

Books about Comparison of Recording Current Meters in Shallow Waters of San Francisco Bay, California
Shallow-water Holothuroidea (Echinodermata) from Kenya and Pemba Island, Tanzania
Language: en
Pages: 158
Authors: Yves Samyn
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher:

Holothuroidea, commonly known as sea cucumbers, make up one of the five extant classes of echinoderms. As a highly successful group these animals have colonized the whole marine realm, from the intertidal zone to the deep ocean trenches and from the poles to the tropics. So far some 1600 species