The Emperor Of Scent

In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of ...

The Emperor Of Scent

In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the secret of the most enigmatic of our senses.

More Books:

The Emperor Of Scent
Language: en
Pages: 496
Authors: Chandler Burr
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-31 - Publisher: Random House

In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the
The Emperor of Scent: A True Story of Perfume and Obsession
Language: en
Pages: 332
Authors: Chandler Burr
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-02-01 - Publisher: Turtleback Books

For as long as anyone can remember, a man named Luca Turin has had an uncanny relationship with smells. He has been compared to the hero of Patrick Suskind's novel Perfume, but his story is in fact stranger, because it is true.
The Emperor of Scent
Language: en
Pages: 332
Authors: Chandler Burr
Categories: Biophysicists
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher:

This true story profiles a scientific genius with eerie powers of smell who uses his gifts to solve one of the body's last secrets: how the nose works.
Emperor Of Perfume
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Chandler Burr
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-08-30 - Publisher: Turtleback Books

For as long as anyone can remember, a man named Luca Turin has had an uncanny relationship with smells. He has been compared to the hero of Patrick Suskind's novel "Perfume," but his story is in fact stranger, because it is true.
The Secret of Scent
Language: en
Pages: 207
Authors: Luca Turin
Categories: Perfumes
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-05-17 - Publisher:

'Meet Luca Turin, a renegade scientist and perfume critic with an extraordinary sense of smell.' NewsdayFunny, irreverent and passionate, The Secret of Scent opens the lid on two worlds - the glamorous and highly lucrative realm of the perfume makers, and the equally rivalrous domain of smell science.Smell is our