The Ugly Cry

“They say comedy equals tragedy plus time: This very funny account of an often miserable childhood is proof.” --People “What a strong, funny, heartbreaking memoir, with a voice that is completely its own (written by a woman who very ...

The Ugly Cry

“They say comedy equals tragedy plus time: This very funny account of an often miserable childhood is proof.” --People “What a strong, funny, heartbreaking memoir, with a voice that is completely its own (written by a woman who very much seems to be completely her own, as well.) I loved it.”--Elizabeth Gilbert, New York Times bestselling author of Big Magic and Eat, Pray, Love An uproarious, moving memoir about a grandmother’s ferocious love and redefining what it means to be family “If you fight that motherf**ker and you don’t win, you’re going to come home and fight me.” Not the advice you’d normally expect from your grandmother—but Danielle Henderson would be the first to tell you her childhood was anything but conventional. Abandoned at ten years old by a mother who chose her drug-addicted, abusive boyfriend, Danielle was raised by grandparents who thought their child-rearing days had ended in the 1960s. She grew up Black, weird, and overwhelmingly uncool in a mostly white neighborhood in upstate New York, which created its own identity crises. Under the eye-rolling, foul-mouthed, loving tutelage of her uncompromising grandmother—and the horror movies she obsessively watched—Danielle grew into a tall, awkward, Sassy-loving teenager who wore black eyeliner as lipstick and was struggling with the aftermath of her mother’s choices. But she also learned that she had the strength and smarts to save herself, her grandmother gifting her a faith in her own capabilities that the world would not have most Black girls possess. With humor, wit, and deep insight, Danielle shares how she grew up and grew wise—and the lessons she’s carried from those days to these. In the process, she upends our conventional understanding of family and redefines its boundaries to include the millions of people who share her story.

More Books:

The Ugly Cry
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Danielle Henderson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-08 - Publisher: Penguin

“They say comedy equals tragedy plus time: This very funny account of an often miserable childhood is proof.” --People “What a strong, funny, heartbreaking memoir, with a voice that is completely its own (written by a woman who very much seems to be completely her own, as well.) I loved
Laughing Through the Ugly Cry
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Dawn Barton
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-26 - Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Do you believe that joy is a choice? Dawn Barton does. She's an upbeat Southerner with good hair and a successful business background, but she's had more heartache than most of us can imagine. Laughing Through the Ugly Cry is a collection of honest and sometimes raw stories. Dawn throws
Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Joya Goffney
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-04 - Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.

A passionate, hilarious and heartfelt YA romcom debut full of juicy secrets and leap-off-the-page chemistry about how we choose to live our lives and what it means to live your truth. For fans of To All the Boys I've Loved Before and The Sun is Also a Star. Quinn keeps
A Rainbow of Feelings
Language: en
Pages: 118
Authors: Sharon Ackerman Dilly.
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-07-16 - Publisher: iUniverse

As you open this book look at its cover; What is going through your mind, what kind of feeling are you thinking? Look at the bubbles and imagine what the person on the cover is thinking. As you turn the pages you will find out why this book is called
Please Don't Let Me Ugly Cry
Language: en
Pages: 132
Authors: Thithiabridesmaid
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-11-11 - Publisher: Independently Published

During wedding preparations choosing a right bridesmaid is probably the most important choice. Congratulations on making this right choice, now lets send her this custom notebook to let her know.Find more @Thithiabridesmaid Specifications: Type: Bridesmaid Notebook Soft, Glossy finish paperback cover Cover color: brown recycles paper feel with black text